Books I’ve been reading…

Since my birthday back in April, when I got the Divergent trilogy to read, I’ve jumped from one book straight into another. I’ve got through quite a few books within that time, so I thought I’d share my thoughts on them…

I’ll go through them in the order they appear in the photo (rather than the order I read them in). So first up is The Little Book of Hygge by Miek Wiking. I bought this because I’d added Fearne Cotton’s book to my basket on Amazon and this came up as a recommendation based on what other people had bought. I’d heard of the word ‘Hygge’ last autumn, so I was curious to read about it and thought the cover of the book was too pretty to resist. After reading it I’d definitely recommend it for the price (I think it was around £5). However, I wish I’d read it in Autumn/Winter because it’s definitely a book to cosy up with on a dull/ cold day. If you’re going to give it a go, save it for later in the year and it will be worth it. My only criticism of this book is that it becomes a bit repetitive, as there is only so much that can be said about ‘hygge’.

Second book is The Mindfulness Journal by Corinne Sweet. This book wasn’t what I’d expected at all, but I do like it. The front cover says ‘exercises to help you find peace and calm wherever you are’ and I thought that it would include things like colouring-in exercises and other fill-in-the-book activities. I was slightly disappointed to realise that many of the pages are almost blank, with just a short quote at the top and the exercises are not to be completed within the book, but on separate paper or just in the mind. I think it is designed for people to keep in their handbag and refer to whenever they feel stressed or rushed and need grounding within a hectic schedule. It is not a reading book, but one that you can open on any page and occupy five minutes of your time with. It is definitely calming but would take serious commitment (you would need to mentally invest in taking time out to properly relax and forget about your phone, social media, appointments etc.) … but then, that kinda is the point of mindfulness!

Fearne Cotton’s book, Happy, is the third one I’d like to mention. I’ve wanted to read this for a while but it was a little pricier than the other books and I wasn’t sure it’s have much informative value. My doubts were irrelevant… I really enjoyed reading it and found it very useful. I found Fearne’s personality so relatable and the book encourages a lot of reflection and self-appreciation exercises (which you complete in the book, space is provided!) For a book it is very interactive and informative and definitely worth the price.

The fourth, fifth and sixth books, I’ll talk about together – it’s the Divergent series by Veronica Roth. I saw the films first and loved them, so I was excited to start reading the books. They are very similar to the films, in that you can ‘see’ the scenes being played out as you read it. However, it does add more detail in places and is more descriptive, which allowed me to realise links and connections that I hadn’t noticed in watching the films for the first time. I’m yet to finish the third book, Allegiant, but I am almost there with it! They are very thick so take me a while to get through, but I have been completely hooked and am thoroughly enjoying them, so I’d recommend if you’re a keen reader and into science fiction/ futuristic themes. (I’ve been told they’re very similar to the Hunger Games, which I’ve neither read, nor seen… I know- shock horror!) Let me know if you have read/seen both series- which is better?

Finally is Four by Veronica Roth, which is linked to the Divergent trilogy. I am close to finishing Allegiant so this one is next on my list. I’m guessing it’ll be just as good as the trilogy and can’t wait to find out. It is based on the character ‘Four’ from the main series, who is the love interest of the main character ‘Tris’. I know from the trilogy that he has a dark and complex past, so I’m keen to find out more about that. Have you read it? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

