Afternoon tea

Back in April I received an afternoon tea for two gift for my birthday. I have been looking forward to it ever since but it's taken me a while to get around to actually going!

With this week off work I had no excuse, so I called the cafe and booked in. Mum and I arrived at 2pm and it was pleasantly quieter than usual in Strickland and Holt in Yarm – I think we were late enough to miss the lunchtime rush.

Upon arrival we were offered the choice of tea or coffee and could even decide which type of coffee we'd each like. We were both impressed by this because we expected to have to make a special request to swap the tea for coffee, so it was great for the staff to be so accommodating. Mum had an Americano and I had a Latte.

They brought out a lovely selection of cakes and sandwiches. In lovely seeded brown rolls, cut into quarters, we had;

  • Tuna and cucumber
  • Pesto, grilled red pepper and halloumi
  • Brie and cranberry chutney
  • Ham, some sort of cheese and a chutney

We then also had;

  • Scones with strawberry jam and clotted cream
  • Macaroons
  • Chocolate brownies
  • Victoria sponge cakes
  • Shortcake iced heart biscuits

It was a lovely treat and we both had a very enjoyable afternoon. What is your favourite thing to have at afternoon tea?

Leave a Reply

