Beamish museum

This week I returned to Beamish, a Victorian open air museum not far from the city of Durham. The last time I went to Beamish was around 6/7 years ago so I noticed a lot of new additions to the exhibitions.

My highlights were going down the mine, visiting the 1820's farmhouse and the old Victorian print shop where I learned all about how they used to print newspapers. It was fascinating to hear about the process, which involved inserting each individual letter into a template and setting up a machine in which the ink would be applied to the template and printed onto the blank pages. It is unbelievable to think we've come so far with technology!

When you purchase your pass to Beamish you get access to the museum for a whole year, so I'll be sure to post about my future visits. I am hoping to return near Christmas to experience the festive season Victorian style!

Leave a Reply

